If a law enforcement official pulls you over and determines that you are over the legal limit, you likely have many questions and concerns about how these charges could impact your life. DUI charges not only raise immediate concerns, but they can also lead to long-term challenges, such as jeopardizing your career and even your personal relationships.
It is crucial to understand the potential penalties you face, carefully examine all details surrounding the incident and take steps to safeguard your future.
License suspension due to drunk driving
According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, drunk driving charges can result in the loss of driving privileges for a few months or several years, depending on the details of the case. For example, drivers with a BAC level between 0.08 and 0.10 could lose their license for three months, while those with a BAC level over 0.10 could lose their license for seven months to one year. Those with multiple DUI offenses on their record could lose driving privileges for up to ten years.
Drunk driving charges can result in stiff fines and prison time
In New Jersey, those charged with driving drunk have to pay fines ranging from $250 to $1,000. Moreover, the state imposes a number of fees, such as fees applied to the Neighborhood Services Fund, AERF, IDRC and drunk driving fund.
Those facing DUI charges for the first time could spend up to 30 days behind bars, while those with past DUI offenses could spend up to 180 days in prison. Make sure you review your legal options if you are facing these allegations.