Once you have a conviction for driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence in New Jersey, auto insurers see you as more of a liability. This means that your current insurer may decide to charge you substantially more for coverage after a DUI or DWI. Also, some insurers may decide not to insure you at all once you have a conviction for drunk driving in your driving history.
According to Bankrate, every car insurance provider in New Jersey has different formulas and processes it uses to decide how much to charge you. However, reviewing how much the average motorist sees his or her insurance rates increase after a drunk driving arrest should give you at least a ballpark idea of what to expect.
What to expect on your insurance bill
The typical New Jersey driver who gets a first-time DUI or DWI sees auto insurance rates rise by 86%. However, this depends on what insurance provider covers you. There is one national car insurance provider that reports charging the average New Jersey driver without a DUI or DWI $1,686 a year for full coverage and that same driver $3,736 a year for coverage after a DWI or DUI conviction.
What other expenses to anticipate
Many people with DUI or DWIs struggle to pay for car insurance after a conviction. However, there are many other expenses involved with such an arrest. Some of these expenses might include fees, fines, bail fees and towing fees, among others.
You may find it useful to ask three or even more different insurance providers for rate quotes to see which one makes you the lowest offer.